The Warsaw Pact was a treaty signed in Warsaw, Poland
in June of 1955. The Countries involved in signing the pact
were Albania, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, East Germany,
Hungary, Poland, Romania, and the Soviet Union. The pact
was a Communist equivalent to the, North Atlantic Treaty
Organization (NATO). The pact was made necessary because of
the remilitarization of West Germany (Paris pacts of 1954).
The Warsaw pact was binding for twenty years but was badly
scarred after the, European collective security treaty. The
1989 collapse of communist governments in Eastern Europe,
made the treaty superfluous, as new governments began to
dominate their former ally, the Soviet Union. The Pact