Scientifically, the Orca is known as
the Orcinus orca. Although the name
Killer Whale suggests the opposite, they are not whales. Orcas are a part of
the Delphinidae Family; they are a species of dolphin. These mammals are
carnivores, known for hunting in groups of approximately forty called pods
which are often noted as similar to wolf hunting packs. They eat seals,
seabirds, fish, and even whales. They have more than forty teeth, each about
ten centimeters long to eat their prey. Orcas are the largest in the dolphin
family and can grow anywhere from twenty-three to thirty-two feet long as well
as weight up to six tons. They can be found in various locations throughout the
Earth from the arctic to equator, despite most media representation depicting
them in the wild to live in only arctic waters.

            Orcas are also considered quite
intelligent, which is one reason why they are often trained in captivity to
perform tricks. They have the largest brains out of all dolphins, weighing between
five and six kilograms. The Orca also has the ability to communicate with other
members of its species through echolocation, similar to Beluga Whales who use
this skill to find food and other members of its species. These pods also seem
to contain members of an extended family, and they have a matriarchal system,
as the female Orcas are known to protect their offspring as well as other
members of their pod. Female Orcas have offspring every three to five years and
go through seventeen-month pregnancies (Britannica
and National Geographic). 

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now