3. May, 1928, All Parties conference held at Bombay appointed an all-parties committee headed by Motilal Nehru to frame a Constitution for an independent India. 4. Dec, 1929, Lahore session of the All India Congress Committee passed resolution for complete independence. Soon after demand for a Constituent Assembly was emphasized.

5. 1938 Haripura and 1940 Ramgarh Session reiterated claims for a Constituent Assembly. 6. 1940, August offer implicitly conceded the demand for Constituent Assembly. 7. 1942, Cripps Mission accepted for the first time India’s right to independence and her right to frame her own Constitution. But, it failed. 8.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

May, 1946, Cabinet Mission finally conceded the demand for setting up a Constituent Assembly for whole India. The Constituent Assembly was to consist of 385 members. Members elected from British India-292 Members who were to be representative-93 of native states Total-385 The Muslim League boycotted the Assembly. When Assembly met at its first meeting on Dec 9, 1946 only 211 members were present. The process of merger and integration of Indian states kept on changing its strength.

After nearly three years of its work, Assembly adopted the Constitution on 26 Nov., 1949. It held 11 sessions, coverings 1,965 days.

The last sitting was held on 24 Jan. 1950. Number of members was decided on the basis of one representative for a population of ten lakh. In all, Assembly had 15 committees with 80 members. The Drafting Committee constituted in 1947 under the chairmanship of Dr. Ambedkar consisted of six other members to prepare the draft Constitution.

The Draft Constitution was prepared in Feb., 1948.